Cider the dog liked books from a young age

J.T. Carlton challenged me to post three quotes in three days. Thanks JT! He writes beguiling words, go read them. The rules are:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you
  2. Nominate three more blogs
  3. Post one quote each day for three days

I never liked rules, so I’m bending them. Today I’m quoting dogs in YA (and my quote days may not be consecutive). I nominate Dave Astor. Feel free to follow the rules or blog about literary dogs (I would prefer the latter).


I find a dog completes any book. I have a few fav writers who always slip in a hound or two.

Picture Me Gone by Meg Rosoff

The Bride’s Farewell by Meg Rosoff where dogs and horses work their magic.

“Each evening she held his head in her hands and ran her aching fingers thru the thick ruff of fur around his neck. He burrowed against her, sighing devotion.”

Stripes of the Sidestep Wolf by Sonya Hartnett where dogs sniff out thylacines (or not).

“She was the one who wanted to be with him, the one who watched and waited for him, who felt his absence badly.”

happy Shelter Dog

Stay With Me by Paul Griffin where saving dogs saves people.

“She’s looking up at me, and I know what she’s saying. The language of dogs is quiet. Tell you what, if there weren’t any dogs on this planet, I would check out right now.”

a dog will never leave your side