Today is day 3 of J.T. Carlton’s challenge to post three quotes in three days. The rules are:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you
  2. Nominate three more blogs
  3. Post one quote each day for three days

Today’s quotes are from YA with characters who have mental illness. Crazy is my special talent due to my anxiety and depression.

I nominate Margot at Lectito because I like her reviews and want to know her favourite quotes.

The Impossible Knife of Memory by Laurie Halse Anderson
The Impossible Knife of Memory by Laurie Halse Anderson

“Keep breathing. It took a few minutes but I won. The grey pulled away from my eyes in ribbons and whispered that it would be back soon.”

Marty's Shadow by John Heffernan
Marty’s Shadow by John Heffernan

“He wanted to cry out, longed to scream, to howl his misery to the heavens. But he couldn’t even manage a whimper. Tears streamed down his face, yet not so much as a sob left his lips.”

Will Grayson, Will Grayson by David Levithan & John Green
Will Grayson, Will Grayson by David Levithan and John Green

“I think the idea of a ‘mental health day’ is something completely invented by people who have no clue what it’s like to have bad mental health. The idea that your mind can be aired out in twenty-four hours is kind of like saying heart disease can be cured if you eat the right breakfast cereal.”