This year’s 2017 Inky Awards Longlist is here

The Inky Awards Longlist came out in March and some of my fav books of the past year were included. The Shortlist will be announced next month and I’m looking forward to seeing what makes it.

Clancy of the Undertow

Clancy of the Undertow by Christopher Currie. I love this cover!

The Flywheel

The Flywheel by Erin Gough. That whole less is more thing

Sister Heart

Sister Heart by Sally Morgan verse novel love!

Inbetween Days

Inbetween Days by Vikki Wakefield. love love love!

Zeroes so much fun! Even with those million pages, sometimes I like a good doorstop.

Green Valentine

Green Valentine by Lili Wilkinson. Who knew gardening could save the world

The Guy, the Girl, the Artist & his Ex

The Guy, the Girl, the Artist & his Ex by Gabrielle Williams. Buckets of fun!

Cloudwish

Cloudwish by Fiona Wood. Romance riffing on Jane Eyre with a twist of magic

Made You Up by Francesca Zappia. I love the book design but the story promotes misunderstanding of schizophrenia and inaccuracies about psychiatric care

Made You Up by Francesca Zappia

I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson. The wait between books is agonizingly long, but her writing is phenomenal. The internal design is a work of art – a beautiful melding of word and image.

The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness. His books never disappoint.

The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes. Her voice is extraordinary.

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. I got half way through and gave up. What I read I enjoyed, but it was so long and I had other books that wanted reading. Less is more.

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

The rest of the list I haven’t got around to – I’m lazy like that. Inky will tell you more about them. If you’re teenaged you can vote for your fav.

Inky Awards Longlist